Top 10 Books of the year – a farce

I wonder how people come up with Top 10 lists. Do so many people have so much time to spare that they are able to read all the good books of the year and then come out with the list of the best ones? I am extremely skeptical.

As far as I am concerned, the best books of the year are the ones that I get to read during that year – even if they are from ancient ages. An Othello, read in any year is the top book of the year for me. A good book is not like a newspaper – it is ageless.  When there is a ocean of literature left to be read, is it really important that I read the best of 2007? I would rather plump for an unranked unheralded gem from the previous year, which might possibly be better than the best book of the current year.

Leave a Reply

